Preserving Medfield’s rich history and landmarks is an ongoing commitment that our forebears from 350 years ago made possible. Town meetings have supported purchases and preservations but there is more work to be done. Current residents continue to support Medfield landmarks through private donations and fundraisers.
Learn about the following community Landmark Preservation initiatives currently seeking donations:
The Friends of Kingsbury Pond Grist Mill (FOKP) is a group of adult volunteers dedicated to preserving, maintaining and improving one of Medfield’s most visible historic buildings built around 1718 by Captain Joseph Clark. Located on Spring Street (rt. 27S) at the serene Kingsbury Pond. The committee hopes to reopen the mill for people to see how milling has progressed through the years. In addition to the new water wheel on the exterior of the building, there is also a turbine inside the building – essentially a water wheel on its side – refurbished by the original committee.
Established to raise funds for the maintenance of the Saw Mill Brook Conservation lands owned by the Town of Medfield. Located at Wight and School Streets near Medfield Center, this conservation area permanently protects approximately 66 acres of valuable wooded wetlands, fields and other important habitat. The land also provides protection for one of the Town’s drinking water wells and offers an outstanding trail network. It abuts The Norfolk Hunt Club. This open space is great for hiking, cross-country skiing, dog walking and horseback riding.